Within Strokes and Bursts of Inspiration: Bringing “Che for Beginners” to Life

At a certain point in time, back in 2003, my life felt like a blank canvas awaiting its strokes. I, a comic artist and graphic designer, found myself entangled in a project that seemed daunting to materialize, yet held a profound significance. This is the tale of my journey to bring Sergio Sinay’s “Che for Beginners” from a translated book to reality, encountering unforeseen challenges and obstacles along the way.

Being part of the indie comic scene since 1999 led me to an unexpected offer: to work on an adaptation of “Che for Beginners” for Insist Press. At this juncture, my life resembled the characters I created – full of challenges and dynamics that resonated. This project demanded collaboration with Rony Agung Rahmanto, where visuals and design became my responsibility while the script belonged to him.

During that time, I was grappling with financial difficulties. Working solo with modest tools, such as an aged homemade PC with sluggish speed, a half-broken scanner, pencils, and ink, felt like a tangible challenge. I learned to create with what I had, seeking solutions amidst limitations. This work became a journey of sacrifice that touched both my soul and creativity.

Unrelenting, I drew over 150 pages, dedicating time and effort to every stroke that spoke of my struggle. The process of scanning each comic page and arranging text on the computer was another tale of perseverance. I sacrificed sleep and meals to ensure this project’s completion, even nearly fainting due to exhaustion.

Behind the scenes, I led a seemingly simple life. I worked in a small studio where I managed indie and underground comic activities under the banner of Komikaze. I traversed the city on my bike to meet people and friends, creating a network that linked the comic community. It was a time when every breath was a struggle.

The strokes I created in this comic were far from perfect. They might be deemed as crude, even ugly. However, within each ink line lay a story and emotion. I felt that within those rough strokes, I was expressing my own struggle. Every ink stroke became a symbol of the battle against uncertainty and adversity.

The book was eventually published by Insist Press. Within each page, I saw a part of myself that I had sacrificed – time, energy, and boundless dedication. I might never have used brushes and black ink before, yet this was how I brought meaning and my struggle to life in this work. There were moments when the drawings weren’t flawless, particularly when deadlines were looming. Yet, therein lay the essence of my life, palpable and profound.

In all its simplicity, “Che for Beginners” that I birthed into the world was the result of hard work, creativity, and persistence in the face of challenges. It’s a tale of how every stroke and ink stroke can be a profound lesson about life. This work isn’t merely a collection of drawings; it’s a reflection of an artist’s journey who dared to confront uncertainty and find beauty within weaknesses and imperfections.

Agung Komikaze

Leave a comment